I’m not a regular at any cafe’, but I like to hangout with a friend at cafes, or sometimes, to work from a cafe, and of course enjoy a properly-made cup of coffee.
Here are places where I get my coffee/espresso fix in Kitchener-Waterloo area.



Matter of Taste

Kitchener: I believe Matter of taste is the first indie cafe in the area and they celebrated their 10th anniversary last year.   Last year, Matter of Taste also ran a series of coffee-related workshops, one of which was the Kopi Luwak tasting. more here>>



DVLB

Waterloo: I would say DVLB is your best option in uptown Waterloo. The space is beautifully designed. It also stays open late relative to the rest of the coffee shops in the region.  more here>>



Balzac’s Coffee

Kitchener:Balzac’s coffee roasters opened in tannery district in Kitchener five years ago, way before the tech companies arrived to the building. Balzac’s has a beautiful space with high-ceiling, exposed brick walls, and good coffee (my favorite is café Noisette with their delicious carrot cake). more here>>



Cafe’ Pyrus

Kitchener: I would go to Pyrus on Saturday morning after shopping at the Kitchener farmers market, to have my morning coffee and play chess with a friend on their chest table by the wall. They also have vegan pastries and sandwiches. I love their Angry vegan meal! more here>>



Seven Shores

Waterloo: Seven shores is a Cafe’ and breakfast/brunch place. They were previously in the building next door when we first visited it  They also have a room that can be booked for meetings. more here>>.



Cafe O

Kitchener: The first Cafe O is located on Victoria street on the intersection of River Rd E. They roast their beans in house. Cafe O opens all week except Sunday more here>>.

These are bonus-not in Kitchener and Waterloo, but close enough …



Planet Bean

Guelph: Planet bean has three locations in Guelph, 20 minutes drive from Kitchener. They have a roasting house and they are pretty good in Latte art too. I like the downtown location the most, which is the location I wrote about in this post>>.



Monigram coffee

Cambridge: It is almost my only choice in Cambridge, Ontario. Monigram also roasts their beans in house and has a breakfast/brunch menu too. More on Monigram here>>



Revel Caffè

Stratford: If you ever go to Stratford, and I mean, you should, then Revel Caffè is there for your coffee boost . Stratford is also home to the first Balzac’s Coffee opened in 1996. more here>>

